9 Days

“It’s impossible to look at something too closely or too often; you always see something more.  Everything changes: I experience the wonderful surprise of discovering something utterly new…..Willam Berra

“I learn more about myself from my sketching and painting than from my thinking.  Something will appear that I would not have been able to put into words”….Linda Leslie

…..”Sketchbook Confidential” (Secrets from the private sketches of over 40 master artists) by Pamela Wissman and Stefanie Lanfersweiler

Since last year’s portrait drawing class, I look more deeply at the faces of my acquaintances and loved ones , with a view to curves and planes how deeply the eyes set into the face, discreet and subtle birthmarks.   It’s a comfort to know that one can never look too deeply at anything. It is true: you always see something more and things are always changing.

I do know that regardless of the results, I walk away from the drawing table feeling as though something has loosened itself from my grip, something good has happened even if it is not easy to explain.  I keep the small graph papered notebook in my purse and pull it out in idle moments.  I keep notes on the learning process of drawing-what went right,  what went wrong and any insights gained on re-occuring problems I encounter in creating a 3 dimensional vision on a flat page…..practice practice practice.  Walking along the path, I find that everything is food for the path.

In 9 more days as the cold weather sets in, Misty Mawn’s online art class begins: Stretching Within. Last year the focus was on seeing the outside world more clearly.  This year the eyes turn inward as this class will cover  usage of diverse mediums: drawing painting, photojournaling and collage.  Can’t wait for it to begin.

4 responses to “9 Days

Leave a Reply

