Deep in this mountain

is an old pond

Deep or shallow

It’s bottom has never been seen

“Whether we’re speaking of art, religion, or life, there are always apparent edges beyond which we cannot see.  As Master Dogen says, the limits of the knowable are unknowable.  The process remains open.  There is an element of trust that must be functioning, a trust that when the foot is thrust forward to take the next step, it will find solid ground.  There is always a little bit further than can be seen. “

………………………………John Daido Loori

I had many reservations about taking Misty’s Portrait Drawing class.   My biggest enemy and resistance came from my own inner thoughts, but through dharma teachings I’ve learned to ask certain questions about my thoughts:  Are they truthful?  Are they kind?  Are they useful? etc.  If there is a negative answer to any of those questions, I then know it’s time to move on.    Each assignment in class is like taking a step in the dark.  I’m not sure of my footing; however, I have found that if I make the effort to move forward, I will gain the ability to see a little bit further down the road.

I never thought I could produce a drawing like this.  So you see, some thoughts are a source of simple falsehood.  There are many dark edges in life we must travel beyond.  This one is gentle training for larger things unforeseen.  Life is an open ended process.  Challenge yourself to grow and expand in any way you see fit.  Trust that there will be solid ground beneath your feet.

5 responses to “

  • Gale

    What a beautiful drawing.

  • Kateri

    I love this post. I can relate to it in many ways. Your drawing is exquisite!

    When I read this I thought of a poem that I love. I’ll post it here:

    Stone

    Go inside a stone
    That would be my way.
    Let somebody else become a dove
    Or gnash with a tiger’s tooth.
    I am happy to be a stone.

    From the outside the stone is a riddle:
    No one knows how to answer it.
    Yet within, it must be cool and quiet
    Even though a cow steps on it full weight,
    Even though a child throws it in a river;
    The stone sinks, slow, unperturbed
    To the river bottom
    Where the fishes come to knock on it
    And listen.

    I have seen sparks fly out
    When two stones are rubbed,
    So perhaps it is not dark inside after all;
    Perhaps there is a moon shining
    From somewhere, as though behind a hill—
    Just enough light to make out
    The strange writings, the star-charts
    On the inner walls.

    ~ Charles Simic ~

    (The Voice at 3 A.M.)

  • June Roman

    I really love this one! Never stop drawing.

  • dawnsrays

    O my how you have grown! This is just an amazing sketch and I am enamored at the depth of soul in this piece.
    Carry on with challenging your thinking mind, it suits you well.
    Peace~
    Dawn

  • meditationsnippets

    This post is written so beautifully, that I have printed it out and hung it next to my desk. Thank you. Your timing is perfect.

Leave a Reply

