Henceforth

Tropical storm Bill spun up the east coast and left us with terrifying thunderstorms last night…..but this morning?  Ahhh..the suffocating humidity has lifted a little bit.   I can finally breathe and the yarn is moving through my dry fingers with ease.

IMG_4389

The Stitches South convention opened right on the heels of my first weaving class.  Wandering through the isles, I came across a booth with a jewel like display of hand-dyed yarns by Henceforth, an independent dyer and weaver from North Carolina.  Don’t pass up a visit to her website, which not only has an interesting display of yarn in various textures and colors, but also a gallery of beautiful handwoven garments ( the woven shibori wraps are breathtaking!).  I shamelessly stared at the walls for an hour trying to decide which color to buy and ended up purchasing a stone colored neutral and a subtle, yet poignant red.

IMG_3513

IMG_4402

The yarn is 100% spun silk, lace weight and comes in a generous 985 yard skein.  Once again I ventured into Victorian Lace Today and cast on the Scarf with Striped Border 1890. This is probably one of the easiest patterns in the book.  It is a nice respite after Aeolian and it’s moving along pretty fast.  I’m almost half way through already.

IMG_4377

2 responses to “Henceforth

  • dawnsrays

    I am so glad Bill finally went on his merry way! yesterday was so cool and humid free here, I was giddy with excitement. The heavy air of last week was oppressive.
    Your lace is coming along quite rapidly! how lovely that silk yarn must feel to work with.

    I often wonder what people must think of the knitter that is enthralled by color. I take forever in selecting yarns and most of the time it is the color that really is the pivotal factor.

    Knit on, my friend!
    ~Dawn

Leave a Reply

