Ordinary Days

 

I thought about silver, but that was too expensive. 

79 beads are needed for the border.

Then I saw these two.

 

img_2499

 

 

One is an Amber shell bead and the other?….dunno…one of those unlabelled strands, 

but it looks like African Turquoise-a soft sage color with brown and black spider thin veins running through it. 

I couldn’t choose between them, so I decided to use both alternately.  

 

img_2500

 

They will dangle from the edge of the lace border, which is “knitted on”.

 I have no clue how to knit on a lace border, but it’s getting close (only one more repeat to go), so its time to do the research.  

 

img_24721

 

 

img_2474

 

 

img_2501

This is going FAST, but the rows are getting very looong.    

The foggy gray drearies have cleared out and there is a good deal of bright sunlight streaming through the window.

You could say I am ready to start an ordinary day of knitting, but there are no ordinary days 

My readings today say this:

 

There is no ordinary breath or heartbeat;

there is no ordinary force of gravity;

there is no ordinary birth or death.  

Natural, yes

–but never ordinary…..

Nothing in your life is ordinary

…..from Sweeping Changes by Gary Thorp

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “Ordinary Days

  • Genie

    So delicate and intricate. I love the choice of beads. I am looking forward to seeing the end product. I love your photography. The way it uses light. It’s gentle yet crisp.

  • frillbow

    Eek! Knitted on borders. Haven’t tried this technique yet because it scares the life out of me!

  • katnap

    Amanda,

    I have to admit that the knitted on borders were scaring me away from this pattern, but I plunged ahead anyway. In the end, it really wasn’t that bad.

Leave a Reply

