We are the ones….

img_2246

 

I took a week of vacation time in the dead of winter. 

Why?  

Because when my mother was a little girl, she watched silent movies in a segregated movie theatre and her mother……and my great grandmother….and

Because when I was a little girl, I remember coming home from school and seeing

my mother

slumped over on the sofa

crying

 because someone murdered Martin Luther King.  

Because people of all colors have had dark complicated experiences in this country in reference to color 

and finally because there was a feeling that change was in the air. 

**********

We had all good intentions of going up to the Inauguration in Washington, but honestly, I don’t do well in crowds or the cold, so we decided to stay home.  It was a good decision.

I set a simple table for the three of us-mom dh and I

 

img_2234

 

My little mother sat on the sofa under a blanket by the fire with a steaming hot cup of coffee while

Dh put steaks and chicken on the grill outside (yes, we are  seasonally confused! )

Anyway along with side dishes, I baked bread and cake, which made the house smell wonderful

We  sang a horrible rendition of “Its a New Day” by Will.i.am.

img_2214

The fact that not one arrest or report of violence was made in a crowd of almost 2 million people sent thrill chills up and down my spine

 

My sister struck up a conversation with a gentleman next to her while ordering lunch, and suddenly he paused and said,

I’ll pay for your lunch today” 

It was not a pick up-he asked for nothing in return-

just a random act of kindness.  

 

It was a day of peace, celebration, hope and joy.   There is a river flowing. Let go of the shore, push off.  See who is in there with you and celebrate.  Cultivating a mind and heart of peace, we create a world of peace.   Commit random acts of kindness, pay it forward, take care of your life, take care of the earth,

be the change you want to see.   

WE are the ones we are waiting for…. 

 

*******************************

We have been telling the people that this is the

Eleventh hour

Now we must go back and tell the people this is the Hour


And there are things to be considered:

Where are you living?

What are you doing?

Where is your water?

Know your garden.


It is time to speak your truth.


Create your community.

Be good to each other.


And do not look outside yourself for the leader.

This could be a good time!


There is a river flowing now very fast

it is so geat and swift that there are those who will

be afraid

They will try to hold on to the shore

They will feel they are being torn apart and they

will suffer greatly.


Know the river has its destination.


The Elders say we must let go of  the shore, and

push off and into the river, keep our eyes open, and

our head above the water.


See who is in there with you and Celebrate.


At this time in history, we are to take nothing 

personally.

Least of all, ourselves.


For the moment that we do, our spiritual growth

and journey comes to a halt.


The time for the lone wolf is over,

Gather yourselves!

Banish the word “struggle” from you attitude and your vocabulary.


All that you do now must be done in a sacred 

manner

And in celebration.

“We are the ones we’ve been waiting for……


The Elders, Hopi Nation, Oraidi,Arizona

 

 

 

9 responses to “We are the ones….

  • dawnsrays

    I sit here with tears in my eyes from reading this. . . not tears of sadness or despair but tears of hope and understanding. I read this and I recognize the truth in it and it moves my soul into that place of greater space, opening up, letting in and communing with all of life. You are so wonderful and I have been blessed to share blog land with you. Big hugs!!
    Peace and much love,
    Dawn

  • Sharing « Today and Everyday

    […] and I appreciate her gifts so so very much. I want you all to hop over to her blog and read THIS POST.  Read it when you have a little time to devote to it and if you need to, read it again. […]

  • Genie

    I rejoice. As I read your post. I rejoice. For the realization that our hope is no longer for the future alone, but for today! A lovely post indeed. Dawn directed me here, and I’m glad I came 🙂

  • frillbow

    Love this post Kathy!
    And love the new blog look too. It shows of your photography so well.

  • Caroline

    Wow…such a moving post. I found you through Dawn and so glad she directed us here! 🙂 What a powerful day it was last week. I cried on the phone with my Mom…I am so relieved. So, I will do my best to push off the shore and flow down the river…

  • Fatma

    The Eleventh hour is definitely here. I found you through Dawn too. Thank you for being you.

  • Serena

    I found my way here from Dawn’s post too. I am deeply moved by your post and the truth that resonates with it. Thank you ~

  • beverly

    This is the most beautiful website I’ve ever seen.
    You have exquisite taste. I’ve already written by blog post for the day (darn) but tomorrow is another day and I am going to tell folks about your site. It is so beautiful!

  • kateri

    I so loved this post. You are just truly beautiful. SO glad I found you!

Leave a Reply

